Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Glaze?

Glaze?

Hi I am a newbie...who enjoys making cookies

What is the main difference between a glaze and roayl icing?
    Which do you prefer?

I made one last night w/ corn syrup and evap milk...but this morning after decorationg I can still press my finger in the icing and ruin the decorating.

Does that sound right or did I perhaps do something wrong>
    Thanks!!

I have made both and the corn syrup icing takes much longer to dry and set up hard but tastes better IMHO. Royal icing has meringue powder in it and it has a matte finish to it. Dries faster and more brittle than the corn syrup. I think royal icing is less forgiving than the corn syrup but gives a crisper finish.

I prefer RI it's very easy to work with - for me- and it could be made extra shiny by adding 1/2tsp of corn syrup or Glycerin. It dries fast to a nice smooth finish.

I've never used evaporated milk in glace, so maybe that was the problem. Regular milk, or even water, works well.

I use both glace and royal. I love the taste of glace, but I'm not really good at piping , so I find royal is easier to work with. As I get better, I imagine I'll use more glace.

I use glaze exclusively and love it!

I've tried royal icing, but dislike it's yucky aftertaste (probably from the meringue powder....have you smelled it by itself?!), how fast it dries when you are decorating with it, how it clogs the tips so easily, how the bubbles in the icing can really ruin the look of the cookie unless you go pop them while it's wet, and the way it dries crunchy hard with a matte finish.

It's true.....RI is so much easier to decorate with. It holds it shape and you can do so much with it. But to me, personally, I want my cookie to taste as good as it looks and I just don't like the taste of RI. For me, the glaze perfectly compliments the cookie. And as long as the cookie is not too old, it stays pretty soft (or maybe I should say "tender") with the glaze.