Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How long can I save unused glaze?

How long can I save unused glaze?

Just wondering about the 'shelf life' of corn syrup glaze. I'm just getting started on my cookie endeavors, and find that I usually have quite a bit of glaze left over. I hate to throw it away, but I'm not sure if the taste and consistency will change over time. Any suggestions or helpful hints will be much appreciated! ~Ashley

I keep mine for about 3-4 days at room temp. I know there are others who keep it even longer than that, but that's about my limit.

I have used it a week later--just stir it up real good
    I have also stored it in the fridge for longer time--but I am still a newbie..

I've always refrigerated my leftover glace, and it keeps great for 2-3 weeks. It will probably still be good after that, but you may have problems with the finish (such as cloudiness and spotting).

I keep my glaze for 3-4 days at room temp too, Karen. Once I'm done with the decorating project, I put it in the refrigerator with a note that says "Eat me" and it magically disappears within a few days.

lol, that's funny Pam!
    I keep my glace in the fridge and i can say it lasts up to 3 weeks. The only reason i'm saying that is because i've used it in 3 weeks and have not had an opportunity to see if it would stay longer (but i'm sure it would)

When I keep mine for long term storage I generally only refrigerate it for as long as the sell by date on the milk I use. I would assume that the only thing to go bad in the icing is the milk, so I date the icing with the same sell by date as the milk and after that I toss any unused icing. But while I decorate I keep it at room temp for a few days (3 or 4) just so it doesn't set and I don't have to wait for it to come to room temperature.

Can it be frozen like royal icing? Has anyone tried?