Thread: Seriously need help with shipping!

Seriously need help with shipping!

I have asked this question over at cake central about a week ago. So far 0 answers. I'm hopping someone from here can help me. I had 3 potential clients ask me today if I ship. As they can be repeat clients, I really need to get on this fast.

My post from over there:

I'm sorry, if i missed it somewhere, but how do you ship cookies? Or ship anything edible? How do I package something that is in a clear plastic box so that it doesn't get crushed?

Are there any across the state lines regulations that I need to be aware of? Do laws as far as operating a home kitchen in my state matter across borders? Is there anything I need to do in this department? How does it work selling things online? Do you include shipping in the total for the cookies? I see a lot of people doing that.

Sorry for asking so many questions. I'm completely new to shipping. I never have shipped anything much less a cookie before. Don't know why, just haven't.

If anybody has any tips, advice, a forum post on the subject it would be greatly appreciated.

TIA

Oh and how do you ship a cookie that is in an acrylic box?

And one more thing....sorry... When shipping the cookies as samples should I send them 1 dummy cookie or should I send them fresh ones to eat? How many? (This is if i mail them)

Hi Dreme, first of all let me say that I checked your web site ... and WOW what a work of art !! I can answer only part of your question - unfortunately- but I'm sure the others will fill in ...as for packaging :
    Line a sturdy container, like a small cardboard box, plastic shoe box, or metal tin, with cookie-cradling packing materials — bubble wrap, foam peanuts, or crumpled waxed or parchment paper. Carefully nestle the cookies inside the container, and seal with tape or tie tightly with ribbon.